The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 28 February 2007 at **10.30** am in the Board Room.

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 31 January 2007.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 Estimates

Memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 21 February 2007. *The Deputy Treasurer will attend for this item*

A.5 Research Matters

The Dean of Research will attend for this item

A.6 Restructuring

Memorandum from the Senior Lecturer.

A.7 Science Gallery Fund-raising

Secretary to report.

A.8 Statutes Review - Presentation

Dr E O'Dell will attend for this item

A.9 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 14 February 2007.

A.10 Retention and Academic Promotion (see Actum CL/06-07/094 of 17 January 2007)

Memorandum from the Vice-Provost, dated 9 February 2007.

A.11 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Audit Committee

Draft Minutes of Meeting of 12 February 2007.

B.2 Finance Committee

- (i) Draft Minutes of meeting of 7 February 2007 (together with 'Travel and Subsistence Rates in Ireland and Abroad' see Minute FN/06-07/49)
- (ii) Draft Minutes of special meeting of 20 February 2007.

B.3 Information Policy Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 14 December 2006.

B.4 Personnel and Appointments Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 22 January 2007.

B.5 Site and Facilities Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 13 February 2007.

B.6 Student Services Committee

Draft Minutes of meetings of:

- (i) 8 December 2006;
- (ii) 1 February 2007.

Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- **C.1 Higher Degrees** to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 30 January 2007.
- **C.2 Proctors' Lists for Spring Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 13 February 2007.

C.3 Minutes – Nominations for Appointment

- (i) Minutes of 25 October 2006, Minute BD/06-07/030,
 Appendix 3 (p. 23) Delete reference to Mr A J Brooks
 (Geography) resubmitted to Council on 14 February 2007
 (see Actum CL/06-07/095, Appendix 1, p.11);
- (ii) Minutes of 22 November 2006, Minute BD/06-07/069, Appendix 1 (p.11) Delete reference to Dr E Collins (Chemistry) resubmitted to Council on 14 February 2007 as Temporary Lecturer (see Actum CL/06-07/095, Appendix 1, p.11), also delete reference to Ms S A Corr (Chemistry).
- C.4 Prizes and Other Awards Entrance Exhibitions to note and approve the recommendation of the Senior Lecturer that the following should be awarded Entrance Exhibitions, due to upgrade of results:

Marie Oonagh Flynn (06031323) Juliet Ann Roberta Turner (92585167) Helena Marie Devenney (05626790)

C.5 Bequests and Benefactions

- Estate of Air Vice Marshal David McKinley and Brenda McKinley to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 18 January 2007;
- (ii) **Estate of Ms Muriel Hilda Mary Tweedy (Deceased)** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 24 January 2007.

^{*} enclosed for members only – circulated to Council meeting of 14 February 2007.

- C.6 Staff Matters Early Retirement Microbiology to note and approve a request for early retirement on 30 September 2007 from: Mr H Kearns (Chief Technologist), Mr J O'Connell (Senior Laboratory Attendant) and Mr P Reid (Senior Laboratory Attendant).
- C.7 TCD-UCD Accord and Collaboration Protocol to note that the Provost and the President of UCD signed an Accord and Collaboration Protocol on 5 February 2007.
- C.8 Memorandum of Understanding TCD and Khon Kaen University, Thailand (Department of Biology) to note that the Registrar and the Dean of the Faculty of Science signed a Memorandum of Understanding on 2 January 2007 to strengthen co-operation between TCD and KKU in the areas of botanical research.
- C.9 Scholarship Request for Intermission to note and approve request from the Senior Lecturer that a Non-Foundation Scholar (02113058) should be allowed to intermit Scholarship in 2006-2007 constituting a second year of intermission, having previously intermitted in 2005-2006.
- **C.10** Academic Medical Centre Steering Group to note and approve the membership of the Academic Medical Centre Steering Group, as follows:

Mr B Sweeney Chair

Provost (Dr J Hegarty)

Vice-Provost for Medical Affairs and Head of School of Medicine (Professor D P A Kelleher)

Dean of Health Sciences (Professor C A O'Moráin)

Secretary to the College (Mr M Gleeson)

Chairman, St James's Hospital (Dr T N Mitchell)

Chief Executive Officer, St James's Hospital (Mr I Carter)

Chairman, AMiNCH (Mr A Gillis)

Chief Executive Officer, AMiNCH (Mr M Lyons)

Acting Director, National Hospitals Office (Mr J O'Brien)

C.11 Nominations for Appointment

- **C.12 Nominating Committees** to note the following memberships:
 - (i) Library (Collection Management Division) Assistant Librarian/Cataloguer – Assistant Librarian 2 grade (permanent)

Librarian

Deputy Librarian

Dr A J Piesse

Ms M Flood

Ms F Tipple (UCD)

(ii) Sports and Recreation – Marketing Services Administrator – Administrative Grade 3 (3-year contract)

Director of Sport

Ms M Bennett

Ms D Jones

Ms S Bailey (UCD)

(iii) Staff Office – Staff Relations Officer – Administrative Grade 1 (permanent)

Secretary to the College Acting Staff Relations Manager (Mr F McCourt) Ms A Higgins Mr M Flanagan (UCD)

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board